Shakespeare Country

June 23, 2016

We took a bus for a day at Stratford-Upon-Avon and arrived at approximately 10:00 A.M.  After breakfast I took off to explore the town.  I went into shop after shop looking for something for my grandson and finally found a tee-shirt to my liking – Shakesbear!

I explored for some time and before I realized it was nearing time to meet for the performance of “A Midsummer Night’s Dream.” I had discovered the Public Library, which was a Carnegie Library.  Then I began to search for the tour bus I had originally intended to take and only had time to reach the Royal Shakespeare Theatre and the performance.  We were to meet there at 1:00 pm.  I purchased a ticket for the tour bus, since I am renowned for my issues with directions!  Actually, though, I only had time to reach the RST and find my seat.

The performance was really enjoyable, especially as I was able to observe and partially overhear the reactions of two little girls sitting to my left.  They were somewhat disappointed in the play as a whole, but some of their comments were priceless!

On the way to the bus for the return trip home I managed to find a bit of food.  Since we were leaving at a time when traffic was extremely congested, our return trip took much longer than the drive out.  Everyone was happy to see our dorms even though a good day was had by all as we celebrated Shakespeare’s death year.

http://www.visitstratforduponavon.co.uk/

 

Leave a Reply

